West Stockbridge Sales Prices Range From $75,000 To $1.35 Million In August
WEST STOCKBRIDGE -- Twelve properties changed hands in West Stockbridge over the past month, but sale prices were disclosed in only two of those deeds. The highest recorded price, $1,350,000 for a home on Silver Mine Lane, was 18 times the lowest disclosed price, a $75,000 sale on West Center Road to a credit union.
MARKET OVERVIEW Twelve properties changed hands in West Stockbridge between July 31 and Aug. 29, according to deeds recorded at the Southern Berkshire Registry of Deeds. Sale prices were disclosed in only two of those transactions, ranging from $75,000 to $1,350,000, with a median of $712,500 between the two. The remaining 10 deeds, several involving trusts, estates, banks or transfers within the same family, did not include a stated consideration amount, so the raw count of 12 transfers does not by itself indicate whether the period was active or quiet in dollar terms.
TOP SALES With price disclosed in only two of the 12 recorded deeds, only those two transactions can be ranked by price. 1. 5 Silver Mine Lane sold for $1,350,000 on July 31. Sellers were Michael Sternschein, as trustee, and Susan J. Frank, as trustee; buyers were Wadie Bahou and Natalia Marchenko. 2. 24 West Center Road sold for $75,000 on Aug. 17. Sellers were William J. Casey Jr. and Virginia F.B. Casey; the buyer was Greylock Federal Credit Union. Bed, bath and square-footage figures were not available for either property in deed records.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two streets had multiple recorded transfers this period: Iron Mine Road, where properties at 3 and 29 Iron Mine Road each changed hands (Aug. 10 and Aug. 17, respectively; neither sale price disclosed), and Jada/Jade Spring Lane, where two deeds recorded Aug. 7 both list a Hirschfeld family member as grantor or grantee (5 Jada Spring Lane and 5 Jade Spring Lane; the street name is spelled differently across the two filings). The remaining eight recorded properties, on West Center Road, Maple Hill Road, Great Barrington Road, Stockbridge Road, Robin Road, Silver Mine Lane, Maple Street and one parcel listed without a street address, were each single transfers. By price tier: one sale under $500,000 ($75,000), one sale over $1 million ($1,350,000), and 10 sales with price not disclosed.
MARKET NOTES Several of the period's deeds represent transfers within the same family or into a trust rather than open-market sales between unrelated parties: Samuel and Susan Menahem transferred 29 Iron Mine Road into the Susan Menahem Revocable Trust Agreement; Heidi Hirschfeld and Michael Hirschfeld, as trustee, along with Jill Benford, as trustee, appear as both grantor and grantee across the two Jada/Jade Spring Lane deeds; and Jane G. Tillman is listed as both trustee and individual grantor on one filing. Bank and lender involvement also appears in the data: JPMorgan Chase Bank N.A. sold 83 Maple Hill Road to Robert Fried and Karen Kowgios; Lee Bank appears as both a seller (3 Iron Mine Road, to a family nominee trust) and a buyer (42 Stockbridge Road, from Siddhi Inc.); and Greylock Federal Credit Union acquired 24 West Center Road from the Casey family. No square-footage, price-per-square-foot or property-type data was available in this dataset, so no comparison on those dimensions is possible.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 5 Silver Mine Ln | Sternschein Michael Tr.; Frank Susan J Tr. | Bahou Wadie; Marchenko Natalia | $1,350,000 |
| Jul 31 | (no address) | Tillman Jane G Tr.; Tillman Jane G | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 3 Maple St | Allen George; West Stockbridge Town Board Of Health | Campagnari Matt; Campagnari Construction LLC | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 10 Robin Rd | Glasser Michael D; Glasser Michael | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 42 Stockbridge Rd | Siddhi Inc | Lee Bank | Not disclosed |
| Aug 7 | 5 Jada Spring Ln | Hirschfeld Heidi | Hirschfeld Michael Tr.; Benford Jill Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 7 | 5 Jade Spring Ln | Hirschfeld Michael Tr.; Benford Jill Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 3 Iron Mine Rd | Lee Bank | Murray Michael J Tr.; Murray Family Nominee Trust | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 289 Great Barrington Rd | Cox George F; Cox Iin Purwanti | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 83 Maple Hill Rd | Jpmorgan Chase Bank Na | Fried Robert; Kowgios Karen | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 24 West Center Rd | Casey William J Jr.; Casey Virginia F B | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $75,000 |
| Aug 17 | 29 Iron Mine Rd | Menahem Samuel E; Menahem Susan | Menahem Susan Tr.; Revocable Trust Agreement | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.