Great Barrington Sale Prices Span $100,000 To $250,000 In August Deeds
GREAT BARRINGTON -- Eleven property deeds were recorded in Great Barrington from July 31 to Aug. 29, but sale prices were disclosed in just three of those transactions, ranging from $100,000 to $250,000 with a median of $210,000.
MARKET OVERVIEW Eleven deeds were recorded in Great Barrington during the period, but only three, or roughly a quarter, included a disclosed sale price. Those three prices ranged from $100,000 to $250,000, with a median of $210,000. The remaining eight transfers, which included trust transactions, a municipal land sale and other conveyances, did not list a stated consideration amount in the deed record. Because most of the period's transactions lack price data, the town's overall price trend cannot be fully assessed from this dataset alone.
TOP SALES The highest-priced recorded sale was 142 Castle St., which sold for $250,000 on Aug. 4. The sellers were Louis Juska and Natasha Perlis; the buyer was Pittsfield Cooperative Bank. The second-highest disclosed sale was 600 South Main St., which sold for $210,000 on July 31. Wards Nursery Inc. was the seller; Lee Bank was the buyer. The third disclosed sale was 299 State Rd., which sold for $100,000 on July 31. Jamie T. Sotis was the seller; Adams Community Bank was the buyer. No other transfer in the dataset included a disclosed price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Castle Street had two recorded transfers: the $250,000 sale at 142 Castle St. and an undisclosed-price transfer at 129 Castle St., in which William Joseph Gutowski Jr. and William J. Gutowski conveyed the property to William J. Gutowski as trustee. State Road also had two transfers: the $100,000 sale at 299 State Rd. and an undisclosed-price transfer at 301 State Rd., where Jamie Sotis and the Berkshire Regional Planning Commission were sellers and Adams Community Bank was the buyer, the same buyer as the 299 State Rd. transfer. Main Street had two transfers involving Wards Nursery Inc. as seller: the $210,000 sale at 600 South Main St. to Lee Bank, and an undisclosed-price transfer at 600 Main St. with no buyer listed in the record. The remaining transfers, at 11 Prospect St., 32 Kalliste Hill, 34 Bridge St., 20 Alford Rd. and 44 Russell St., were each on separate streets with no disclosed prices.
MARKET NOTES Bank entities were listed as buyers in three of the 11 transfers: Pittsfield Cooperative Bank, Lee Bank and Adams Community Bank. Two transfers, at 129 Castle St. and 34 Bridge St., involved trusts among the parties. One transfer, at 20 Alford Rd., listed the Great Barrington Town Conservation as seller, with Alyssa Skrypack and Frederick D. McCandless Jr. as buyers. Beds, baths and square footage were not available in the deed data for any property. Because eight of the 11 recorded deeds did not disclose a sale price, this month's figures reflect a small, partial sample of the local market.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 600 South Main St | Wards Nursery Inc | Lee Bank | $210,000 |
| Jul 31 | 299 State Rd | Sotis Jamie T | Adams Community Bank | $100,000 |
| Jul 31 | 20 Alford Rd | Great Barrington Town Conservation | Skrypack Alyssa; Mccandless Frederick D Jr. | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 301 State Rd | Berkshire Regional Planning Commission; Sotis Jamie | Adams Community Bank | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 600 Main St | Wards Nursery Inc | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 44 Russell St | Sampson Christian | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 31 | 129 Castle St | Gutowski William Joseph Jr.; Gutowski William J | Gutowski William J Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 32 Kalliste Hill | Schwartz Marc A; Schwartz Margot | Beachmont Gb LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 34 Bridge St | Moreno Matthew Tr.; Residences At Powerhouse Square I Condominium Trust | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 4 | 142 Castle St | Juska Louis; Perlis Natasha | Pittsfield Cooperative Bank | $250,000 |
| Aug 4 | 11 Prospect St | Marcos Victor Matthew; Marcos Pauline Aicha | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.