Sheffield's Two Disclosed Sales Span $240,000 to $425,000 in August
SHEFFIELD -- The Southern Berkshire Registry of Deeds recorded 12 property transfers in Sheffield between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but only two listed a sale price, limiting what can be concluded about the month's market values.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Twelve transfers were recorded during the period, an active count of recorded deeds by volume alone. Only two of the 12, or about 17%, disclosed a sale price. Among those two, prices ranged from $240,000 to $425,000, with a calculated median of $332,500. Because that median rests on just two data points, it should not be read as representative of the broader market; the other 10 transfers carry no price information in the deed record.
TOP SALES
200 East Stahl Road sold for $425,000 on Aug. 19. Del S. Rogers and Susan A. Donaghey were the sellers; Robin Berthet was the buyer. This was the highest disclosed sale price of the period.
175 Main Street sold for $240,000 on Aug. 14. HB I Alternative Holdings LLC and Onity Mortgage Corp. were listed as sellers; Stewart Traill was the buyer.
No other transfers recorded during the period listed a sale price, so no additional properties can be ranked by price. The remaining 10 transfers, listed by recording date, involved properties at 395 Salisbury Road, 275 Hewins Street, 200 Clayton Road, 1166 Home Road, 778 Hewins Street, 1125 Barnum Street, 60 Parsley Lane, 200 E Stahl Road, 243 Hulett Hill Road and 1775 County Road.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Hewins Street had two recorded transfers: 275 Hewins St., where Allen G. Morven and Allen Morven conveyed to Massachusetts Electric Co., and 778 Hewins St., where Greylock Federal Credit Union conveyed to Peter R. Cherneff and Hester A. Velmans. Neither listed a price.
Stahl Road also had two entries at essentially the same address: 200 East Stahl Road, the $425,000 sale to Berthet, and 200 E Stahl Road, a separate deed the same day naming Susan Donaghey and Del S. Rogers as sellers with no buyer or price listed.
The remaining eight transfers were spread across separate streets, Salisbury Road, Clayton Road, Home Road, Barnum Street, Parsley Lane, Hulett Hill Road, County Road and Main Street, with no other street-level clustering evident in this period's data.
MARKET NOTES
Seven of the 12 recorded transfers, at 395 Salisbury Road, 200 Clayton Road, 1166 Home Road, 778 Hewins Street, 1125 Barnum Street, 60 Parsley Lane and 175 Main Street, list a bank, credit union or loan-servicing entity (Greylock Federal Credit Union, Adams Community Bank, Berkshire Bank, Lenders Trust, HB I Alternative Holdings LLC and Onity Mortgage Corp.) as the seller. That is a majority of the period's activity.
The transfer at 1775 County Road, from Linda H. Fales to Fales Estate LLC, reflects a transfer within the same family name; no motivation is indicated in the deed record.
The 275 Hewins Street transfer to Massachusetts Electric Co. is a utility acquisition rather than a typical residential sale.
Bedroom, bathroom and square-footage data are not available from deed records and are omitted from this report. With price disclosed on only two of 12 deeds, no price-per-square-foot or property-type comparisons can be made this period.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 175 Main St | Hb I Alternative Holdings LLC; Onity Mortgage Corp | Traill Stewart | $240,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 18 | 1775 County Rd | Fales Linda H | Fales Estate LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 19 | 200 East Stahl Rd | Rogers Del S; Donaghey Susan A | Berthet Robin | $425,000 |
| Aug 19 | 200 E Stahl Rd | Donaghey Susan; Rogers Del S | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 19 | 243 Hulett Hill Rd | Noe Melissa A; Noe James P Jr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 20 | 60 Parsley Ln | Lenders Trust; Birritteri Sebastian Tr. | Properties LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 21 | 1125 Barnum St | Berkshire Bank | Taylor Thomas A; Erickson Karen S | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 200 Clayton Rd | Adams Community Bank | Konkapot LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 24 | 1166 Home Rd | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Learnard Kevin M; Learnard Bernadette A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 24 | 778 Hewins St | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Cherneff Peter R; Velmans Hester A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 26 | 275 Hewins St | Allen G Morven; Allen Morven | Massachusetts Electric Co | Not disclosed |
| Aug 28 | 395 Salisbury Rd | Greylock Federal Credit Union; Pitman Theodore B | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.