Only One Sheffield Sale Discloses Price As August Closings Reach $240,000
SHEFFIELD -- Twelve properties changed hands in Sheffield in August, but only one recorded deed disclosed a sale price, leaving most of the month's housing activity undocumented in terms of value.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Southern Berkshire Registry of Deeds recorded 12 property transfers in Sheffield between July 31 and Aug. 29. Of those, only one deed, for 175 Main St, included a sale price: $240,000. Because it is the only disclosed figure, it also stands as both the low and high end of the range and the median. Eleven of the 12 transfers, or roughly 92 percent, carried no disclosed consideration. A count of 12 transfers in one month is a notable volume for a small town, but the near-total absence of price data means no meaningful conclusion can be drawn about whether the market ran hot or cold this period.
TOP SALES 175 Main St sold for $240,000 on Aug. 14. The sellers were listed as HB I Alternative Holdings LLC and Onity Mortgage Corp; the buyer was listed as Traill Stewart. No other transaction recorded in this period disclosed a sale price, so no additional transactions can be ranked by price. The remaining 11 transfers are detailed in the neighborhood and market-notes sections below.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN South Main Street had two transfers: 658 South Main St, sold Aug. 5 by sellers Luis A. Guerrero and Grace Guerrero, both listed as trustees; and 649 South Main St, sold Aug. 3 by the estate of Theodore J. Fuchs. Expanding to the broader Main Street corridor, which also includes 175 Main St and 153 East Main St, four of the 12 transfers, exactly one-third, involved a Main Street address. The remaining eight transfers were spread across single addresses with no street-level clustering: Elm Court, Alum Hill Road, Weatogue Road, an unaddressed Sheffield parcel, Hewins Street, Bunce Road South, Sycamore Terrace within the Berkshire Lake Estates subdivision, and Shunpike Road. Because only one sale carried a disclosed price, transfers cannot be grouped into price tiers this period.
MARKET NOTES Five of the 12 transfers, at 38 Elm Court, 658 South Main St, 0 Hewins St, 649 South Main St and 612 Shunpike Rd, involved a trust or an estate on the seller or buyer side, several appearing to keep the property within the same family name. No conclusions can be drawn about why these transfers occurred. Three transfers, at 175 Main St, 243 Alum Hill Rd and 153 East Main St, listed a mortgage servicing or lending company, including Rocket Mortgage LLC, Nationstar Mortgage LLC, Onity Mortgage Corp and Pingora Loan Servicing LLC, among the sellers. One transfer, 105 Weatogue Rd, moved from private owners Julie Richburg and Julie Richberg to Sheffield Town Conservation. Deed records for this period included no bedroom, bathroom, square-footage or property-type data, so no per-square-foot comparisons or single-family-versus-condo breakdowns can be made.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 204 Bunce Rd S | Digiovanni Michael; Digiovanni Molly | Tribeam Capital LLC; Concert Finance | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 153 East Main St | Pingora Loan Servicing LLC; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Farrell Michael | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 0 Sycamore Ter Berkshire Lake Estates Unit 3 Lot 3 Block 3 | Cummings Dana D | Hoy Sari; Oconnor Denis R Jr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 649 South Main St | Fuchs Theodore J Est | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 3 | 612 Shunpike Rd | Rubin Jeffrey W; Naughton Leslie A | Naughton Leslie A Tr.; Leslie A Naughton Declaration Of Trust Dat | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | 658 South Main St | Guerrero Luis A Tr.; Guerrero Grace Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 5 | 0 Hewins St | Chapin Catherine S Tr.; Moore Cathy S Tr. | Chapin Jean Tr.; Emberlin Jean Chapin Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | (no address) | Jasman John D | Jasman John D; Pshenishny Linda A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 243 Alum Hill Rd | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Nationstar Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 11 | 105 Weatogue Rd | Richburg Julie; Richberg Julie | Sheffield Town Conservation | Not disclosed |
| Aug 12 | 38 Elm Court | Ivory Christopher M; Ivory Jacqueline A | Ivory Jacqueline A Tr.; Ivory Jacqueline Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 175 Main St | Hb I Alternative Holdings LLC; Onity Mortgage Corp | Traill Stewart | $240,000 |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.