Monterey Property Data Thin as Just Three of 16 August Transfers Disclose a Price
MONTEREY -- Sixteen property transfers were recorded in Monterey between July 31 and Aug. 29, 2026, but with only three disclosing a sale price, the dataset offers a narrow window into actual market values. The three priced transactions ranged from $30,000 to $575,000, producing a median of $125,000 that reflects a thin sample rather than broad market conditions.
- MARKET OVERVIEW
- Sixteen deeds were recorded during the period, but 13 carried no disclosed consideration amount, leaving just three transactions with confirmed prices. Those three sales spanned $30,000 to $575,000, with a median of $125,000. The raw count of 16 transfers indicates a moderately active month for a small rural town, though the near-total absence of disclosed prices makes it impossible to draw reliable conclusions about prevailing values. Readers should treat the median with caution given the sample size.
- TOP SALES
- The highest disclosed price in the period was $575,000, recorded Aug. 14 at 99 Beartown Mountain Road. The sellers were Joy Simha and Vasu Chari; the grantees listed are Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., a pattern consistent with a mortgage instrument recorded alongside a sale. A second deed at the same address on the same date, from Matthew C. Vella and Carey E. Dalton, carried no disclosed price, suggesting the two recordings may relate to the same underlying transaction.
The second priced sale was recorded Aug. 18 at 55 Main Road at $125,000, with Anna and Marc Dimov as sellers and Lead Bank and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as grantees, again consistent with a mortgage recording.
The lowest disclosed amount, $30,000, was recorded Aug. 3 at 453 Main Road. The seller was Michael F. Carroll and Cara M. Carroll; the buyer was Greylock Federal Credit Union. The nature of that transfer is not specified in the deed data.
- NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
- Main Road accounted for the largest cluster of activity, with five recorded deeds at four distinct addresses: 55, 349, 379, 404, and 453 Main Road. Beartown Mountain Road saw two recordings, both at or near 99 Beartown Mountain Road on Aug. 14, as noted above. Single transfers were recorded on Blue Hill Road, Brett Road, Buckingham Lane, Corashire Road, Harmon Road, Swann Road, and Tyringham Road, along with one entry lacking a street address. No price data is available for the Main Road cluster beyond the $30,000 transaction at No. 453 and the $125,000 transaction at No. 55.
- MARKET NOTES
- Several transfers in the dataset show characteristics of intra-family or trust-related conveyances rather than arm's-length sales. At 70 Harmon Road, Joel T. Nowak and Wendy A. Lebowitz transferred the property to Joel Nowak TR and Maxim Nowak TR, a pattern common in estate planning. At 404 Main Road, David W. Micklewright TR and Emma Micklewright conveyed to Emma L. Micklewright TR and David W. Micklewright TR. Two deeds tied to Meredith Friedman, one at 68 Tyringham Road and one with no street address, show the same grantor and grantee pattern, with Friedman conveying to herself as trustee. At 21 Corashire Road, the Mongiardo name appears on both sides of the transaction. Three transfers involved institutional sellers: NBT Bank NA appears as grantor on three deeds (349 Main Road, 379 Main Road, and 10 Buckingham Lane), and Berkshire Bank appears as grantor on two (186 Blue Hill Road and 185 Beartown Mountain Road), a pattern consistent with bank-owned property dispositions, though the nature of each transfer is not specified in the deed records. The transfer at 94 Brett Road lists the Monterey Town Collector as buyer, which may indicate a tax-related proceeding; the data does not specify further.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 453 Main Rd | Carroll Michael F; Carroll Cara M | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $30,000 |
| Aug 7 | 185 Beartown Mountain Rd | Berkshire Bank | Webb Terrence | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 11 | 10 Buckingham Ln | Nbt Bank Na | Alster Shay; Alster Cristina | Not disclosed |
| Aug 13 | (no address) | Friedman Meredith | Friedman Meredith Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 13 | 68 Tyringham Rd | Friedman Meredith | Friedman Meredith Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 99 Beartown Mountain Rd | Simha Joy; Chari Vasu | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $575,000 |
| Aug 14 | 99 Beartown Mt Rd | Vella Matthew C; Dalton Carey E | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 404 Main Rd | Micklewright David Tr.; Micklewright Emma | Micklewright Emma L Tr.; Micklewright David W Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 18 | 55 Main Rd | Dimov Anna; Dimov Marc | Lead Bank; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $125,000 |
| Aug 19 | 25 Swann Rd | Steibel Scott W; Steibel Teresa | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 19 | 349 Main Rd | Nbt Bank Na | Gero Rudolph J | Not disclosed |
| Aug 20 | 186 Blue Hill Rd | Berkshire Bank | Allen Edward C | Not disclosed |
| Aug 20 | 94 Brett Rd | Goodman Steven R; Good Man Steven | Monterey Town Collector | Not disclosed |
| Aug 20 | 70 Harmon Rd | Nowak Joel T; Lebowitz Wendy A | Nowak Joel Tr.; Nowak Maxim Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 21 Corashire Rd | Mongiardo Nicholas A; Monjardo Nicholas | Mongiardo Carlo A; Mongiardo Nicholas A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 27 | 379 Main Rd | Nbt Bank Na | Parks Judith; Parks Walter M | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.