Just Three Of 17 Recorded Williamstown Deeds Disclose A Sale Price
WILLIAMSTOWN -- Seventeen property deeds were recorded in Williamstown between July 31 and Aug. 29, but only three included a disclosed sale price, according to Northern Berkshire Registry of Deeds records, leaving most of the period's real estate activity without a public dollar figure attached.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 17 deeds for Williamstown properties during the period. Of those, three disclosed a sale price, ranging from $80,000 to $360,000, with a median of $100,000. The remaining 14 records, roughly 82% of the total, listed no consideration amount, consistent with deed data that includes mortgage discharges, trust transfers and transfers among family members alongside outright sales. Because so few prices were disclosed, the raw count of 17 recorded deeds does not by itself indicate whether buying activity in Williamstown was active or quiet during the period.
TOP SALES The highest-priced recorded transaction was a $360,000 sale that closed Aug. 6, in which David J. Elpern and Martha E. Elpern, as trustees, conveyed a Williamstown property to Chayah Properties LLC. The deed record did not include a specific street address.
The second-highest disclosed sale was $100,000, recorded Aug. 6 at 60 Saulnier Drive, where Ronald Turbin and Judith Turbin conveyed the property to MountainOne Bank.
The third disclosed sale was $80,000, recorded Aug. 3 at 73 Longview Terrace, where David J. Woods and Tamaryn E. Clowdus conveyed the property to Greylock Federal Credit Union.
No bed, bath or square-footage figures were available from the deed records for any of the three sales.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Hancock Road saw three separate deeds recorded during the period, at 429, 888 and 988 Hancock Road; none disclosed a sale price.
Longview Terrace also had three deed entries, all at 73 Longview Terrace. Only one, the $80,000 conveyance to Greylock Federal Credit Union, disclosed a price; the other two entries at the same address were additional filings without disclosed consideration.
Main Street had two deeds recorded, at 1175 and 166 Main Street, neither with a disclosed price.
Sloan Road and Bulkley Street each had two deed entries at a single address, 111 Sloan Road and 118 Bulkley Street respectively; none disclosed a price.
Outside these clusters, single deeds were recorded at 25 Fort Hoosac Place, 781 Simonds Road, 242 North Hoosac Road, and the unspecified Williamstown address tied to the $360,000 sale.
Among the three disclosed prices, all fell in a range from $80,000 to $360,000; the dataset does not include enough disclosed sales to break the market into meaningful price tiers.
MARKET NOTES Of the 17 deeds recorded, 14, or about 82%, listed no sale price. Two of the three disclosed sales, at 60 Saulnier Drive and 73 Longview Terrace, named a bank or credit union, MountainOne Bank and Greylock Federal Credit Union respectively, as the buyer rather than an individual.
Several of the undisclosed-price deeds reflect transfers among family members or into trusts rather than conveyances to unrelated buyers. At 111 Sloan Road, John G. Merselis III conveyed the property to himself as trustee. At 118 Bulkley Street, Thomas H. Green III and Kristen L. Johanson conveyed the property to themselves as trustees. At 242 North Hoosac Road, David R. Macpherson and Polly J. Macpherson conveyed the property to David T. Macpherson and David R. Macpherson. At 988 Hancock Road, Sean Mullally and Rose Blodgett conveyed the property to Sean Mullally alone.
One deed recorded the Town of Williamstown conveying 25 Fort Hoosac Place to Thomas Krens; the record cites a "take" book reference, consistent with a government-related conveyance. No price was disclosed for that transfer.
Beds, baths and square footage are not available from deed records for this period, and the data does not specify property type, so no comparison between single-family, condominium or multi-family transfers can be made.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 242 North Hoosac Rd | Macpherson David R; Macpherson Polly J | Macpherson David T; Macpherson David R | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 988 Hancock Rd | Mullally Sean; Blodgett Rose | Mullally Sean | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 888 Hancock Rd Mtg Bk 1678 Pg 456 | Adams Community Bank | Tidmarsh Tanya; Tidmarsh Simon J | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 73 Longview Ter | Woods David J; Clowdus Tamaryn E | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $80,000 |
| Aug 3 | 73 Longview Ter Mtg Bk 1552 Pg 170 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Woods David J; Clowdus Tamaryn E | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 73 Longview Ter Mtg Bk 1548 Pg 413 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Woods David J; Clowdus Tamaryn E | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 781 Simonds Rd Mtg Bk 1797 Pg 604 | Adams Community Bank | Bayliss Jarrett C; Bayliss Jennifer D | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 166 Main St Mtg Bk 1659 Pg 213 | Adams Community Bank | Howley Iris K; Baur James A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 25 Ft Hoosac Pl Take Bk 1841 Pg 274 | Williamstown Town | Krens Thomas | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | 111 Sloan Rd | Merselis John G III | Merselis John G III Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | 111 Sloan Rd Deed Bk 1925 Pg 1025 | Merselis John G III; Merselis John G III Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 5 | 118 Bulkley St | Green Thomas H III; Johanson Kristen L | Green Thomas H III Tr.; Johanson Kristen Lee Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | 118 Bulkley St Deed Bk 1925 Pg 1065 | Johanson Kristen Lee Tr.; Johanson Kristen Lee | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 6 | (no address) | Elpern David J Tr.; Elpern Martha E Tr. | Chayah Properties LLC | $360,000 |
| Aug 6 | 60 Saulnier Dr | Turbin Ronald; Turbin Judith | Mountainone Bank | $100,000 |
| Aug 6 | 429 Hancock Rd Mtg Bk 1901 Pg 978 | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mutual Of Omaha Mortgage Inc | Lakeview Loan Servicing LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 1175 Main St Mtg Bk 1864 Pg 1096 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Garand Mary R; Saunders Catherine A Tr. | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.