Sign in Subscribe

Disclosed Monterey Home Prices Span $125,000 to $1.3 Million in Filings

MONTEREY -- Fourteen property transfers were recorded in Monterey between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but only four listed a sale price, ranging from $125,000 to $1,286,000. A bank appeared as either buyer or seller in six of the 14 transactions.

MARKET OVERVIEW

The Southern Berkshire Registry of Deeds recorded 14 property transfers for Monterey during the period. Of those, four disclosed a sale price: $125,000, $250,000, $475,000 and $1,286,000. The median of the four disclosed prices was $362,500. The remaining 10 transfers, or roughly 71% of the total, did not include a consideration amount in the deed record, which is common for bank transactions, trust transfers and transfers among family members. Because disclosed pricing covers only four of 14 sales, the price range and median describe a small subset of the period's activity rather than the full market. Without comparable figures from prior periods, the raw count of 14 recorded transfers offers a baseline reading of activity in Monterey for this four-week span.

TOP SALES

The highest-priced recorded sale was 104 Fairview Rd, which sold for $1,286,000 on Aug. 31. The sellers were Kevin S. Atteson and Holly K. Kulka; the buyer was Fairview CAL LLC.

94 Brett Rd sold for $475,000 on Sept. 3. Sellers Russell Moody and Cameron Melville transferred the property to Brett Road LLC.

36 North East Cove sold for $250,000 on Sept. 8. The seller was Robin F. Williams; the buyer was Lee Bank.

55 Main Rd sold for $125,000 on Aug. 18. Sellers Anna Dimov and Marc Dimov transferred the property to Lead Bank and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.

No other transfers in the period disclosed a sale price.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN

Main Road accounted for four of the 14 recorded transfers, more than any other street: 55 Main Rd ($125,000, Aug. 18), 349 Main Rd (price not disclosed, Aug. 19), 379 Main Rd (price not disclosed, Aug. 27) and 404 Main Rd (price not disclosed, Aug. 14).

Beartown Mountain Road/Beartown Mt Rd, at the same house number, appears twice: a transfer recorded Aug. 14 with Matthew C. Vella and Carey E. Dalton as sellers and no buyer listed in the record, and a Sept. 2 transfer from seller Adams Community Bank to buyers Matthew C. Vella and Carey E. Dalton.

The remaining eight transfers were each on separate streets: 36 North East Cove, 94 Brett Rd, 104 Fairview Rd, 21 Corashire Rd, 186 Blue Hill Rd, 70 Harmon Rd, 25 Swann Rd and one deed listing only "Monterey, MA" without a street address.

By price tier among the four disclosed sales: one sale was under $500,000 at $125,000, two fell in the $250,000-$475,000 range, and one exceeded $1 million at $1,286,000.

MARKET NOTES

A bank was listed as either grantor or grantee in six of the 14 recorded transfers: Lee Bank (buyer, 36 North East Cove), Adams Community Bank (seller, 99 Beartown Mountain Rd), NBT Bank NA (seller, both 379 Main Rd and 349 Main Rd), Berkshire Bank (seller, 186 Blue Hill Rd), and Lead Bank together with Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (buyers, 55 Main Rd). None of these six transactions disclosed a sale price.

Four of the 14 transfers involved matching or closely related surnames between grantor and grantee, consistent with transfers within the same family or into a trust: the Camp/Duke property transferred into trust for James T. Camp and Jessica C. Duke on Aug. 28; 21 Corashire Rd transferred among Mongiardo family members on Aug. 24; 70 Harmon Rd transferred to Joel and Maxim Nowak as trustees on Aug. 20; and 404 Main Rd transferred into trust for David W. and Emma L. Micklewright on Aug. 14. None of these four disclosed a sale price.

Deed records for this period did not specify property type, square footage, or bedroom and bathroom counts, so no price-per-square-foot or property-type comparison can be made.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1499 Beartown Mt RdVella Matthew C; Dalton Carey ENot disclosed
Aug 14404 Main RdMicklewright David Tr.; Micklewright EmmaMicklewright Emma L Tr.; Micklewright David W Tr.Not disclosed
Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1855 Main RdDimov Anna; Dimov MarcLead Bank; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc$125,000
Aug 1925 Swann RdSteibel Scott W; Steibel TeresaNot disclosed
Aug 19349 Main RdNbt Bank NaGero Rudolph JNot disclosed
Aug 20186 Blue Hill RdBerkshire BankAllen Edward CNot disclosed
Aug 2070 Harmon RdNowak Joel T; Lebowitz Wendy ANowak Joel Tr.; Nowak Maxim Tr.Not disclosed
Aug 24 - Aug 30
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 2421 Corashire RdMongiardo Nicholas A; Monjardo NicholasMongiardo Carlo A; Mongiardo Nicholas ANot disclosed
Aug 27379 Main RdNbt Bank NaParks Judith; Parks Walter MNot disclosed
Aug 28(no address)Camp James T; Duke Jessica CDuke Jessica C Tr.; Camp James T Tr.Not disclosed
Aug 31 - Sep 6
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 31104 Fairview RdAtteson Kevin S; Kulka Holly KFairview Cal LLC$1,286,000
Sep 299 Beartown Mountain RdAdams Community BankVella Matthew C; Dalton Carey ENot disclosed
Sep 394 Brett RdMoody Russell; Melville CameronBrett Road LLC$475,000
Sep 7 - Sep 13
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Sep 836 North East CoveWilliams Robin FLee Bank$250,000

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Berkshire County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe