Sheffield's lone disclosed sale sets a $650,000 mark for the month
SHEFFIELD -- Fifteen property transfers were recorded in Sheffield during the four weeks ending Aug. 22, but only one deed disclosed a sale price, limiting what conclusions can be drawn about the town's market this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Southern Berkshire Registry of Deeds recorded 15 property transfers in Sheffield between July 24 and Aug. 22. Of those, only one, the sale of 200 Clayton Rd, listed a disclosed consideration amount: $650,000. Because only one of 15 transactions carried a price, no meaningful price range or median can be calculated for the period as a whole; the disclosed range and median both stand at $650,000, reflecting that single sale. The raw count of 15 recorded deeds indicates deed activity was present throughout the period, but with disclosed pricing on just 1 of 15 transactions, the data does not support a characterization of the market as active or quiet based on price trends.
TOP SALES 200 Clayton Rd sold for $650,000 on July 30. The seller was Konkapot LLC and the buyer was Thomas C. Grossman. Bed, bath and square footage figures were not available in the deed record.
No other transaction in the dataset disclosed a sale price, so no additional sales can be ranked by price. Among the remaining 14 transfers, several involved lenders or loan servicers as a party to the deed: Lee Bank transferred 348 Hulett Hill Rd to Andrew J. and Alice M. Naylor on July 29; NBT Bank NA transferred 1189 Ashley Falls Rd to Rafael Antonio Cardenas on July 28; Berkshire Bank transferred 940 Ashley Falls Rd to Stephen R. Gartner and Danielle J. Blade on July 24; and Pingora Loan Servicing LLC and Rocket Mortgage LLC transferred 153 East Main St to Michael Farrell on Aug. 3. A fifth transaction ran in the opposite direction: Shanley Douglas Nolan transferred 243 Alum Hill Rd to Nationstar Mortgage LLC (Mr. Cooper) on Aug. 11. None of these five deeds disclosed a price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two streets had more than one recorded transfer during the period. Ashley Falls Road saw two transfers: 1189 Ashley Falls Rd (NBT Bank NA to Rafael Antonio Cardenas, July 28) and 940 Ashley Falls Rd (Berkshire Bank to Stephen R. Gartner and Danielle J. Blade, July 24). South Main Street also saw two transfers: 658 South Main St (Luis A. and Grace Guerrero, as trustees, sellers, July 29 [recorded Aug. 5]) and 649 South Main St (the Estate of Theodore J. Fuchs, seller, Aug. 3). No price was disclosed for any of these four deeds.
By price tier, only one sale can be placed: 200 Clayton Rd falls in the $500,000-to-$1 million tier at $650,000. The remaining 14 transfers cannot be sorted into price tiers because no consideration amount was recorded.
MARKET NOTES A notable share of this period's deeds, at least four of 15, involved a bank or loan servicer as grantor or grantee: Lee Bank, NBT Bank NA, Berkshire Bank, Pingora Loan Servicing LLC/Rocket Mortgage LLC, and Nationstar Mortgage LLC/Mr. Cooper each appear as a party on a Sheffield deed recorded this period. Separately, at least five transfers appear to be within-family or trust reorganizations rather than open-market sales: 0 Hewins St (Catherine S. Chapin and Cathy S. Moore, as trustees, to Jean Chapin and Jean Chapin Emberlin, as trustees), 612 Shunpike Rd (Jeffrey W. Rubin and Leslie A. Naughton to Leslie A. Naughton, as trustee, of the Leslie A. Naughton Declaration of Trust), 146 Lime Kiln Rd (the Gunn Family Irrevocable Trust to Matthew Peter Gunn, as trustee), and a Jasman family deed with no street address listed. Two transfers listed an estate as the sole named seller with no buyer recorded in this dataset: 649 South Main St (Estate of Theodore J. Fuchs) and 87 Huldahs Ln (Estate of Bonnie H. Sheldon). One deed, for a vacant lot in the Berkshire Lake Estates subdivision (0 Sycamore Ter, Unit 3, Lot 3, Block 3), transferred from Dana D. Cummings to Sari Hoy and Denis R. O'Connor Jr. No square footage or bedroom/bathroom data was available for any property in this dataset, and no price-per-square-foot comparisons can be made as a result.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 24 | 940 Ashley Falls Rd | Berkshire Bank | Gartner Stephen R; Blade Danielle J | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 28 | 1189 Ashley Falls Rd | Nbt Bank Na | Cardenas Rafael Antonio | Not disclosed |
| Jul 29 | 348 Hulett Hill Rd | Lee Bank | Naylor Andrew J; Naylor Alice M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 29 | 146 Lime Kiln Rd | Gunn Family Irrevocable Trust; Gunn Matthew Peter Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 30 | 200 Clayton Rd | Konkapot LLC | Grossman Thomas C | $650,000 |
| Jul 30 | 87 Huldahs Ln | Sheldon Bonnie H Est | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 204 Bunce Rd S | Digiovanni Michael; Digiovanni Molly | Tribeam Capital LLC; Concert Finance | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 153 East Main St | Pingora Loan Servicing LLC; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Farrell Michael | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 0 Sycamore Ter Berkshire Lake Estates Unit 3 Lot 3 Block 3 | Cummings Dana D | Hoy Sari; Oconnor Denis R Jr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 649 South Main St | Fuchs Theodore J Est | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 3 | 612 Shunpike Rd | Rubin Jeffrey W; Naughton Leslie A | Naughton Leslie A Tr.; Leslie A Naughton Declaration Of Trust Dat | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | 658 South Main St | Guerrero Luis A Tr.; Guerrero Grace Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 5 | 0 Hewins St | Chapin Catherine S Tr.; Moore Cathy S Tr. | Chapin Jean Tr.; Emberlin Jean Chapin Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | (no address) | Jasman John D | Jasman John D; Pshenishny Linda A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 243 Alum Hill Rd | Shanley Douglas Nolan; Shanley Douglas N | Nationstar Mortgage LLC; Mr Cooper | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.