Only two of 13 Sheffield property sales disclosed a price last month
SHEFFIELD -- Thirteen properties changed hands in Sheffield between July 17 and Aug. 15, according to deeds recorded at the Southern Berkshire Registry of Deeds, but only two of those transactions disclosed a sale price, limiting what the data can show about the town's overall market.
MARKET OVERVIEW
The registry recorded 13 property transfers in Sheffield during the period. Of those, only two listed a consideration amount: $320,000 and $650,000. The median of those two disclosed prices is $485,000. With price data available for just 2 of 13 sales, that figure reflects only a small slice of the month's activity and should not be read as representative of all 13 transfers. By raw count alone, 13 recorded deeds in a four-week span is a notable volume of activity for the town, though the registry data provided does not include prior-month or prior-year figures for comparison.
TOP SALES
200 Clayton Road sold for $650,000 on July 30. Konkapot LLC was the seller; Thomas C. Grossman was the buyer. This was the highest-priced transaction with a disclosed price in the period.
941 Clayton Road sold for $320,000 on July 21. Garry P. Ovitt Jr. and Nicole M. Chase were the sellers; NBT Bank NA was the buyer. This was the only other transaction with a disclosed sale price.
The remaining 11 transfers recorded in the period did not include a consideration amount in the deed, so a full ranking of the month's highest sales cannot be determined from the available data.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Clayton Road saw two transfers in the period: 200 Clayton Road ($650,000) and 941 Clayton Road ($320,000), the two highest and lowest disclosed prices of the month.
Ashley Falls Road also saw two transfers: 1189 Ashley Falls Road, sold July 28 from NBT Bank NA to Rafael Antonio Cardenas, and 940 Ashley Falls Road, sold July 24 from Berkshire Bank to Stephen R. Gartner and Danielle J. Blade. Neither disclosed a price.
The remaining nine transfers were each on separate streets: Huldahs Lane, Hulett Hill Road, Lime Kiln Road, Alum Hill Road, Rannapo Road, Bears Den Road, Pike Road, Salisbury Road and Rote Hill Road. None of those nine disclosed a sale price.
MARKET NOTES
A majority of the month's transfers, 7 of 13, list a bank or credit union as the seller: Lee Bank (348 Hulett Hill Road), NBT Bank NA (1189 Ashley Falls Road), Berkshire Bank (940 Ashley Falls Road), Greylock Federal Credit Union (1193 Rannapo Road), Digital Federal Credit Union (132 Bears Den Road), JPMorgan Chase Bank NA and Chase Bank USA NA (128 Pike Road), and PNC Bank NA (142 Rote Hill Road). None of these seven transactions disclosed a sale price.
One transaction ran the opposite direction: at 941 Clayton Road, individual sellers Garry P. Ovitt Jr. and Nicole M. Chase transferred the property to NBT Bank NA for $320,000, the only bank-as-buyer transfer in the period.
Three transfers show a pattern of within-family or trust-related transfers. At 87 Huldahs Lane, the seller is listed as the estate of Bonnie H. Sheldon, with no buyer named in the data provided. At 146 Lime Kiln Road, the seller is listed as the Gunn Family Irrevocable Trust with Matthew Peter Gunn as trustee, also with no buyer named. At 328 Alum Hill Road, the seller is listed as George A. Milukas Jr. individually and as trustee, again with no buyer named. A fourth transfer, 625 Salisbury Road, lists Jonathan G. Seward and Jamie L. Seward as sellers with no buyer named. No sale price was disclosed for any of these four transfers, and the data does not indicate the reason for the transfers.
No sale prices were disclosed for 11 of the 13 transactions, which prevents any assessment of price-per-square-foot trends or property-type mix, since square footage and property-type data were not available from the deed records reviewed.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 20 | 625 Salisbury Rd | Seward Jonathan G; Seward Jamie L | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 20 | 142 Rote Hill Rd | Pnc Bank Na | Frasari Holdings LLC | Not disclosed |
| Jul 21 | 941 Clayton Rd | Ovitt Garry P Jr.; Chase Nicole M | Nbt Bank Na | $320,000 |
| Jul 21 | 128 Pike Rd | Jpmorgan Chase Bank Na; Chase Bank Usa Na | Frighetto Edward J; Frighetto Karen M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 22 | 328 Alum Hill Rd | Milukas George A Jr.; Milukas George A Jr. Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 22 | 1193 Rannapo Rd | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Cartier Matthew C; Cartier Victoria M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 22 | 132 Bears Den Rd | Digital Federal Credit Union | Rulison Mark | Not disclosed |
| Jul 24 | 940 Ashley Falls Rd | Berkshire Bank | Gartner Stephen R; Blade Danielle J | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 28 | 1189 Ashley Falls Rd | Nbt Bank Na | Cardenas Rafael Antonio | Not disclosed |
| Jul 29 | 348 Hulett Hill Rd | Lee Bank | Naylor Andrew J; Naylor Alice M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 29 | 146 Lime Kiln Rd | Gunn Family Irrevocable Trust; Gunn Matthew Peter Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 30 | 200 Clayton Rd | Konkapot LLC | Grossman Thomas C | $650,000 |
| Jul 30 | 87 Huldahs Ln | Sheldon Bonnie H Est | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.