Lake Shore Drive sale tops $1 million as Cheshire deed activity spans wide price range
CHESHIRE -- Seventeen property transfers were recorded in Cheshire during the period, ranging from a $30,000 deed to a $1,065,600 sale on Lake Shore Drive. Only seven of the 17 transactions listed a disclosed sale price, with several involving banks or credit unions as either buyer or seller.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Northern Berkshire Registry of Deeds recorded 17 property transfers in Cheshire for the period July 31 through Aug. 29. Of those, seven listed a disclosed consideration amount, ranging from $30,000 to $1,065,600. The median sale price among the seven disclosed transactions was $336,000. The registry's raw count of 17 recorded deeds does not include a prior-period figure for comparison, so this report cannot characterize the month as busy or slow relative to typical Cheshire activity; it reflects only the transactions recorded in this window.
TOP SALES 150 Lake Shore Dr. sold for $1,065,600 on Aug. 3, with Tara and David Strassburg as sellers and Adams Community Bank as buyer. A related deed recorded the same day, listed as 150 Lakeshore Dr., shows Adams Community Bank transferring the property back to Tara and David Strassburg; that second transaction did not disclose a price.
222 Brough Rd. sold for $585,000 on Aug. 17. Terry G. Beer and Diana L. Knaebe were the sellers; Edward D. and Amanda L. Hughes were the buyers.
47 Ingalls Rd. sold for $340,000 on Aug. 11. Glenn J. and Patricia A. Rosse sold the property to Alfred G. Gelinas Trust and Amy R. Gelinas Trust.
186 Willow Cove Rd. sold for $336,000 on Aug. 11. Patrick O'Connell was the seller; Greylock Federal Credit Union was the buyer.
650 Outlook Ave. sold for $320,000 on Aug. 4. David A. and Gabrielle D. Murach were the sellers; Greylock Federal Credit Union was the buyer. A separate deed recorded Aug. 13 shows Greylock Federal Credit Union transferring the same address back to David A. and Gabrielle Murach; that transaction did not disclose a price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN By price tier among the seven disclosed sales: two transactions were under $100,000 (740 Notch Rd. at $50,000 and 252 Richmond Hill Rd. at $30,000); three fell between $100,000 and $500,000 (47 Ingalls Rd., 186 Willow Cove Rd. and 650 Outlook Ave.); and two exceeded $500,000 (222 Brough Rd. and 150 Lake Shore Dr.).
Several streets had more than one recorded transaction. Richmond Hill Road had two deeds tied to the same address on Aug. 14, both involving Richard J. Towle. Willow Cove Road had two separate transactions, at 186 and 120 Willow Cove Rd., recorded the same day, Aug. 11. Outlook Avenue and Lake Shore/Lakeshore Drive each had paired transactions, described above, in which a property changed hands twice within the period. West Mountain Road also had two deeds, at 812 West Mountain Rd. and 18 W. Mountain Rd., both recorded Aug. 6, though these are distinct addresses rather than repeat transactions on the same property.
MARKET NOTES Ten of the 17 recorded deeds, 59%, did not disclose a sale price, which is typical for certain deed types and does not necessarily indicate the absence of a sale.
Financial institutions appeared as grantor or grantee in a majority of the period's transactions. Greylock Federal Credit Union appears in five deeds, Adams Community Bank in three, and Homebridge Financial Services Inc., Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and the Federal Housing Commissioner each appear once. Several properties, including 252 Richmond Hill Rd., 650 Outlook Ave. and 150 Lake Shore Dr., show a bank or credit union taking title and then transferring the same property back to the prior owner within the same recording period, a pattern consistent with foreclosure-related filings. The registry data does not indicate the reason for these transfers, and no motivation is implied here.
One transaction, at 294 Railroad St., involved a single grantor, Kara L. Giorgi, transferring the property to herself along with an additional grantee, Tammy L. Giorgi, with no price disclosed. Deed records do not specify property type, so no single-family, condominium or multi-family breakdown is available for this period. Bedroom, bathroom and square-footage figures are not part of deed records and are not reported here.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 150 Lake Shore Dr | Strassburg Tara; Strassburg David | Adams Community Bank | $1,065,600 |
| Aug 3 | 150 Lakeshore Dr Mtg Bk 1824 Pg 161 | Adams Community Bank | Strassburg Tara; Strassburg David | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 650 Outlook Ave | Murach David A; Murach Gabrielle D | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $320,000 |
| Aug 6 | 99 Daniels Ter Mtg Bk 1605 Pg 491 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Wilczak Christopher W | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 812 West Mountain Rd Mtg Bk 1576 Pg 358 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Leblanc Andre J Jr.; Mcdonald Kathryn M | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 18 W Mountain Rd Mtg Bk 1831 Pg 106 | Federal Housing Commissioner; Link Corp | Warner Christopher A | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 206 Shadowland Cove Rd Mtg Bk 1885 Pg 405 | Homebridge Financial Services Inc; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Odonnell William C | Not disclosed |
| Aug 10 | 294 Railroad St | Giorgi Kara L | Giorgi Kara L; Giorgi Tammy L | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 47 Ingalls Rd | Rosse Glenn J; Rosse Patricia A | Gelinas Alfred G Tr.; Gelinas Amy R Tr. | $340,000 |
| Aug 11 | 186 Willow Cove Rd | Oconnell Patrick | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $336,000 |
| Aug 11 | 120 Willow Cove Rd Deed Bk 1923 Pg 648 | Logins Arija E; Swindlehurst Ian M | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 13 | 650 Outlook Ave Mtg Bk 1898 Pg 206 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Murach David A; Murach Gabrielle | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 252 Richmond Hill Rd | Towle Richard J | Adams Community Bank | $30,000 |
| Aug 14 | (no address) | Qs Lending Trust; Ross Steven A Tr. | Towle Laura; Towle Richard J | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 252 Richmond Hill Rd Trust Bk 1784 Pg 105 | Qs Lending Trust; Ross Steven A Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 222 Brough Rd | Beer Terry G; Knaebe Diana L | Hughes Edward D; Hughes Amanda L | $585,000 |
| Aug 17 | 740 Notch Rd | Martin Jared Jerome | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $50,000 |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.