Kemble Street sale pushes top of Lenox market to $3.4 million
LENOX -- A Kemble Street property sold for $3.4 million in late July, the highest of just five disclosed sale prices among 17 property transfers recorded in Lenox over the past month, according to Middle Berkshire Registry of Deeds records.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 17 property transfers in Lenox between July 24 and Aug. 22. Only five of those listed a sale price, ranging from $25,000 to $3,400,000, with a median of $338,700 among the disclosed sales. Twelve of the 17 recorded transfers, or roughly 71%, carried no reported price, which is common in deed data and includes mortgage-related and lender transactions. With most prices undisclosed, the raw count of 17 transfers does not by itself indicate whether the period was more or less active than usual.
TOP SALES 4 Kemble St. sold for $3,400,000 on July 24. Sellers Eric George Haythorne and Carol Forsyth Haythorne transferred the property to buyer Lori A. Robbins, trustee, and Cartwheel Revocable Trust. A second deed for the same address, also recorded July 24, listed no price and named Lori A. Robbins and Sebastians Legacy LLC as sellers.
11 Lawton St. sold for $352,450 on July 24. Seller Stephen Alton Alsdorf transferred the property to Adams Community Bank and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.
A Lenox property with no street address listed in the deed record sold for $338,700 on July 28. Sellers Susanne Fant Freeman, trustee, and Todd Beckett McGinley, trustee, transferred it to buyer Elisabeth Chapman.
589 East St. sold for $100,000 on July 27. Sellers Michael F. Sheehan and Gabriela Sheehan transferred the property to Greylock Federal Credit Union.
263 Walker St. sold for $25,000 on July 28. Sellers Deena L. Gilbert and Deena Gilbert transferred the property to Dart Collateral Manager LLC and Mutual of Omaha Mortgage Inc.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Pittsfield Road recorded the most activity of any street, with three separate transfers: 260 Pittsfield Road (Unit E01), 90 Pittsfield Road and 365 Pittsfield Road, all recorded between July 28 and July 30. None listed a disclosed price. Kemble Street recorded two deeds tied to the same address, 4 Kemble St., both dated July 24, one with a disclosed price of $3.4 million and one without. Among the five sales with disclosed prices, four fell under $500,000 ($25,000; $100,000; $338,700; $352,450) and one exceeded $1 million ($3,400,000).
MARKET NOTES Bed, bath and square-footage figures are not available in the deed data, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons can be made. Several transfers involved banks or credit unions as either grantor or grantee, including Adams Community Bank in three transactions, Greylock Federal Credit Union in three transactions, and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. in two transactions. Two deeds show overlapping names between seller and buyer without an accompanying sale price: at 110 School St., Patricia A. Fillio appears as sole seller and as one of two buyers alongside Deanna L. Lovellette; at 4 Kemble St., Lori A. Robbins appears as a buyer, as trustee alongside Cartwheel Revocable Trust, and separately as a seller of record the same day.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 24 | 4 Kemble St | Haythorne Eric George; Haythorne Carol Forsyth | Robbins Lori A Tr.; Cartwheel Revocable Trust | $3,400,000 |
| Jul 24 | 11 Lawton St | Alsdorf Stephen Alton | Adams Community Bank; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $352,450 |
| Jul 24 | 4 Kemble St Deed In Bk 6164 Pg 319 | Robbins Lori A; Sebastians Legacy LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 24 | 70 Galway Ct Mtg In Bk 5815 Pg 66 | Payne Deborah L | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 589 East St | Sheehan Michael F; Sheehan Gabriela | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $100,000 |
| Jul 27 | 39 Tucker St Mtg In Bk 6364 Pg 147 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Turner Stephen F; Turner Sue M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 27 | 169 Housatonic St Mtg In Bk 5356 Pg 98 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Dus Robert E; Dus Lisken Van Pelt | Not disclosed |
| Jul 27 | 36 Dunmore Ct Mtg In Bk 8025 Pg 79 | Adams Community Bank | Steben Susan K | Not disclosed |
| Jul 28 | (no address) | Freeman Susanne Fant Tr.; Mcginley Todd Beckett Tr. | Chapman Elisabeth | $338,700 |
| Jul 28 | 263 Walker St | Gilbert Deena L; Gilbert Deena | Dart Collateral Manager LLC; Mutual Of Omaha Mortgage Inc | $25,000 |
| Jul 28 | 365 Pittsfield Rd Ordr In Bk 7721 Pg 298 | Lenox Town Conservation | Mcgee Automotive Family; Merrill Road LLC | Not disclosed |
| Jul 29 | 240 West St | Elevated Properties LLC | Tanglewood Crossing LLC | Not disclosed |
| Jul 29 | 90 Pittsfield Rd Mtg In Bk 6563 Pg 333 | Lee Bank | Sumer LLC | Not disclosed |
| Jul 30 | 260 Pittsfield Rd Unit E01 Mtg In Bk 5348 Pg 26 | Adams Community Bank | Gardiner D Robert | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 26 East St Mtg In Bk 6511 Pg 259 | Adams Community Bank | Joyner Martha E; Joyner Allan E | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 110 School St | Fillio Patricia A | Lovellette Deanna L; Fillio Patricia A | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 6 May St Mtg In Bk 7592 Pg 31 | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mutual Of Omaha Mortgage Inc | Posnick Louise E | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.