Just Two of 12 August Deed Transfers in Dalton Disclosed Sale Prices
DALTON -- The Middlesex... [Middle Berkshire] Registry of Deeds recorded 12 property transfers in Dalton between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, but only two listed a sale price, limiting what can be reported about the month's housing market.
MARKET OVERVIEW Of the 12 recorded transfers, two included a disclosed consideration amount: $30,000 and $100,000, for a median of $65,000 among priced transactions. The other 10 entries, largely mortgage discharges, bank-to-bank transfers and foreclosure-related filings, listed no sale price. Twelve recorded deeds is a notable volume of registry activity for the period, but with price data available for only one-sixth of entries, the raw count alone does not indicate whether buyer or seller conditions favored either side.
TOP SALES Because only two entries disclosed a price, the top-sales list is limited to those two transactions. 132 Yvonne Drive sold for $100,000, recorded Aug. 13. The sellers were listed as M. Bruce Andrews and Donna M. Fairbank; the buyer was TD Bank NA. 122 High Street sold for $30,000, recorded Aug. 10. The seller was listed as Christopher D. Baumann; the buyer was Pittsfield Cooperative Bank. All other transfers in the period, including properties on Sleepyhollow Road, Pinecrest Drive, Chivers Drive, Grange Hall Road, North Street and Norwich Drive, were recorded without a disclosed sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Three streets had two recorded transfers apiece. Yvonne Drive appears twice: the $100,000 transfer from Andrews and Fairbank to TD Bank NA recorded Aug. 13, and a mortgage-related transfer at the same address from TD Bank NA back to Andrews and Fairbank recorded Aug. 11, with no price disclosed. High Street also appears twice: the $30,000 transfer from Baumann to Pittsfield Cooperative Bank and a same-day mortgage-related transfer from Pittsfield Cooperative Bank back to Baumann, both recorded Aug. 10. North Street had two entries as well: 60 North St., transferred from Peter P. and Joni R. Berardino to the town of Dalton, and 60 North St. Unit 16 at Center Pond, involving Center Pond and Eileen Terrill, both recorded Aug. 11. By price tier, both disclosed sales fall under $500,000: the $30,000 High Street transfer and the $100,000 Yvonne Drive transfer. No transfer in the dataset exceeded $500,000 in disclosed value.
MARKET NOTES Bedroom, bathroom and square-footage figures were not available in the deed records reviewed, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons can be made. The 12 transfers include a mix of property types: single-family addresses, one condominium unit (60 North St. Unit 16, Center Pond), and one municipal acquisition, in which the town of Dalton is listed as buyer for 60 North St. Financial institutions, including Greylock Federal Credit Union, Capital One NA, TD Bank NA, Pittsfield Cooperative Bank, and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc./JPMorgan Chase Bank NA, appear as either buyer or seller on seven of the 12 entries. Several properties, including 132 Yvonne Drive and 122 High Street, had two separate deed entries recorded within days of each other. The deed data does not indicate the reason for these paired filings, and none is speculated here.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 7 | 29 Norwich Dr | Wood Jakob | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 122 High St | Baumann Christopher D | Pittsfield Cooperative Bank | $30,000 |
| Aug 10 | 122 High St Mtg In Bk 5047 Pg 63 | Pittsfield Cooperative Bank | Baumann Christopher D | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 132 Yvonne Dr Mtg In Bk 7898 Pg 293 | Td Bank Na | Andrews M Bruce; Fairbank Donna M | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 60 North St | Berardino Peter P; Berardino Joni R | Dalton Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 60 North St Unit 16 Center Pond | Center Pond; Terrill Eileen | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 12 | 196 Grange Hall Rd Mtg In Bk 7339 Pg 21 | Capital One Na; Butler Brian P | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Jpmorgan Chase Bank Na | Not disclosed |
| Aug 13 | 132 Yvonne Dr | Andrews M Bruce; Fairbank Donna M | Td Bank Na | $100,000 |
| Aug 13 | (no address) | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Broderick John M; Broderick Frances M | Not disclosed |
| Aug 13 | 55 Chivers Dr Mtg In Bk 6722 Pg 1 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Sullivan Sarah Ruth | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 69 Sleepyhollow Rd Mtg In Bk 6106 Pg 23 | Driscoll James O; Driscoll Susan E | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 127 Pinecrest Dr | Pan Xiaoqing; Chen Kang | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.