Dalton Deed Records Show Mostly Undisclosed Prices Behind $775,000 Top Sale
DALTON -- Fifteen property deeds were recorded in Dalton between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but only three listed a sale price, leaving most of the period's real estate activity without a public dollar figure.
MARKET OVERVIEW Middle Berkshire Registry of Deeds records show 15 transactions in Dalton during the period. Of those, three disclosed a sale price, ranging from $242,641 to $775,000, with a median of $350,000. Twelve of the 15 recorded deeds did not include a sale price, and eight of the 15 entries reference an associated mortgage instrument in the deed description, meaning the total count includes lender-related filings, such as mortgage discharges and loan transfers, alongside traditional property sales. Based on the raw filing count, the period was active, but the low rate of price disclosure limits how much can be concluded about overall price movement.
TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction was the sale of 345 Red Barn Rd., Unit 50, part of the Silver Maple Farm development, which sold for $775,000 on Aug. 19. The sellers were listed as Silver Maple Farm and Ronald C. Aasen; the buyer was Gary Perlin.
A Dalton property sold for $350,000 on Aug. 21. Richard D. Olsted was the seller; the Dalton Town Fire District and Richard D. Olsted were listed as buyers. The deed record did not include a street address for this parcel.
The property at 1070 South St. sold for $242,641 on Aug. 17. Robert J. and Glenda L. Sickell were the sellers; Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. were listed as buyers.
No other transactions in the dataset included a disclosed sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN 345 Red Barn Rd. accounted for three of the period's 15 recorded deeds: the $775,000 condominium unit sale, a transfer of the main parcel to the Town of Dalton, and a separate Unit 50 filing listing Gary Perlin as seller. Two deeds were recorded for 29 Norwich Dr., both listing Kasey E. Stegner as buyer and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as seller. All other addresses in the dataset, including 38 Deming St., 37 Frederick Dr., 106 Tower Rd., 30 Flansburgh Ave., 127 Pinecrest Dr., 59 Carson Ave., 65 Lake St. and 69 Sleepyhollow Rd., each appeared once. By price tier, of the three disclosed sales, two fell under $500,000 ($242,641 and $350,000) and one exceeded $500,000 ($775,000).
MARKET NOTES Bed, bath and square-footage data were not available in the deed records for this period. Eight of the 15 entries carry a mortgage reference in the deed description or list a mortgage-related entity, such as Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., Rocket Mortgage LLC, Greylock Federal Credit Union or TD Bank NA, as grantor or grantee, indicating a share of the period's filings are tied to mortgage instruments rather than direct property sales. The Town of Dalton or the Dalton Town Fire District was listed as a buyer in four of the 15 transactions: the Dalton parcel that sold for $350,000, 30 Flansburgh Ave., the main parcel at 345 Red Barn Rd., and 127 Pinecrest Dr. One property in the dataset, 345 Red Barn Rd., Unit 50, is identified as a condominium unit within the Silver Maple Farm development; property type was not otherwise specified for the remaining addresses.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 69 Sleepyhollow Rd Mtg In Bk 6106 Pg 23 | Driscoll James O; Driscoll Susan E | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 1070 South St | Sickell Robert J; Sickell Glenda L | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $242,641 |
| Aug 17 | 127 Pinecrest Dr | Kapernaros Charles L; Kapernaros Judith | Dalton Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 59 Carson Ave Mtg In Bk 7719 Pg 265 | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 65 Lake St Mtg In Bk 6945 Pg 301 | Defino William E; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 19 | 345 Red Barn Rd Unit 50 Silver Maple Farm | Silver Maple Farm; Aasen Ronald C | Perlin Gary | $775,000 |
| Aug 19 | 345 Red Barn Rd | Aasen Ronald C; Aasen Sandra S | Dalton Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 19 | 345 Red Barn Rd Unit 50 | Perlin Gary | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 21 | (no address) | Olsted Richard D | Dalton Town Fire District; Olsted Richard D | $350,000 |
| Aug 21 | 106 Tower Rd Mtg In Bk 6048 Pg 1 | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Td Bank Na | Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 21 | 30 Flansburgh Ave | Olsted Richard D | Dalton Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 21 | 29 Norwich Dr Mtg In Bk 6684 Pg 245 | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Stegner Kasey E | Not disclosed |
| Aug 21 | 29 Norwich Dr Mtg In Bk 6684 Pg 229 | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Stegner Kasey E | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 38 Deming St Mtg In Bk 4208 Pg 1 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Lafogg Ernest F Jr.; Lafogg Marjorie | Not disclosed |
| Aug 24 | 37 Frederick Dr Mtg In Bk 4856 Pg 220 | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Schneider James E; Schneider Catherine B | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.