Alford's lone disclosed sale closes at $250,000 in latest deed batch
ALFORD -- Six property transfers were recorded in Alford between July 17 and Aug. 15, but only one deed disclosed a sale price, limiting what can be said about the town's current market conditions.
MARKET OVERVIEW Six sales were recorded in the period. Of those, one, the July 22 transfer of 275 East St., disclosed a sale price of $250,000. With only one disclosed price, the reported price range and median both stand at $250,000, a figure that reflects a single transaction rather than a broad market sample. The remaining five deeds, four-fifths of the period's activity, closed without a disclosed consideration amount. The raw count of six recorded deeds is the only volume indicator available; there is no prior-period data here to judge whether that represents an active or quiet stretch for the town.
TOP SALES 275 East St. sold for $250,000 on July 22. Seller Louise Alexis Feldman and Claude Joseph Borenzweig transferred the property to Greylock Federal Credit Union; it is the only transaction in this period with a disclosed price. The other five recorded transfers carried no disclosed sale price: 40 East Rd., transferred Aug. 14 from Metro Credit Union to Russell A. Kaphan and Gail J. Kaphan; 58 Riverside Farm Rd., transferred Aug. 10 from Merrill Lynch Credit Corp. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. to Kent Nous and Mary Anne Hayes; 19 Green River Valley Rd., transferred Aug. 10 from Lee Bank to Wayne Schoonmaker; and 30 West Rd., transferred Aug. 3 from Lee Bank to Alfred S. Vandeusen Jr. All are listed as price not disclosed.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN The six recorded deeds are spread across five different roads, East Road, Riverside Farm Road, Green River Valley Road, West Road and East Street, with no street appearing more than once in the period's records. A sixth transfer, recorded Aug. 5, does not list a specific street address and involved Thomas W. McClelland and Carrie Harper transferring property to Thomas W. McClelland and Carrie L. Harper as trustees. Because only one of the six transactions disclosed a price, sales cannot be meaningfully grouped into price tiers this period.
MARKET NOTES Five of the six recorded deeds involved a bank or credit union as either the seller or the buyer. Lee Bank appears as seller in two transfers, at 19 Green River Valley Rd. and 30 West Rd. Metro Credit Union and Merrill Lynch Credit Corp., together with Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., appear as sellers in two more. Greylock Federal Credit Union appears as buyer in the period's lone disclosed sale, at 275 East St. The remaining transaction, at the unlisted Alford address, was a transfer between family members into a trust, from Thomas W. McClelland and Carrie Harper to themselves as trustees. No bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data was available in the deed records for any of the six properties, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons could be made, and no distinction between single-family, condominium or multi-family property types was available in this data set.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 22 | 275 East St | Feldman Louise Alexis; Borenzweig Claude Joseph | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $250,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 30 West Rd | Lee Bank | Vandeusen Alfred S Jr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | (no address) | Mcclelland Thomas W; Harper Carrie | Mcclelland Thomas W Tr.; Harper Carrie L Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 58 Riverside Farm Rd | Merrill Lynch Credit Corp; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Nous Kent; Hayes Mary Anne | Not disclosed |
| Aug 10 | 19 Green River Valley Rd | Lee Bank | Schoonmaker Wayne | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 40 East Rd | Metro Credit Union | Kaphan Russell A; Kaphan Gail J | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.