Housatonic Street Sale at $457,500 Tops Dalton's July Deed Filings
DALTON -- The Middle Berkshire Registry of Deeds recorded 11 property transfers in Dalton between July 17 and August 15, led by a $457,500 sale on East Housatonic Street, though most of the month's filings carried no disclosed price.
MARKET OVERVIEW Eleven transfers were recorded in Dalton during the period. Only three carried a disclosed sale price, ranging from $125,000 to $457,500, with a median of $411,750 among those three. The remaining eight transfers, most of the month's total, were recorded without a consideration amount, which is standard for many deed filings, including mortgage recordings, municipal transfers, and family-related deeds, and does not by itself indicate a lower value. Measured by disclosed-price sales alone, activity was limited: three priced transactions out of 11 total filings, with the rest split among mortgage-related recordings, a municipal acquisition, and multiple deeds tied to a single property.
TOP SALES The month's highest-priced transaction was 230 East Housatonic Street, which sold for $457,500 on July 21. The sellers were Robert A. Wilson Jr. and Shannon E. Wilson; the buyers were Danielle Knutson and Daniel Roy. Bed, bath and square-footage figures were not available from deed records.
The same address, listed as 230 E Housatonic St, was recorded again the same day for $411,750, with Danielle Knutson and Daniel Roy as sellers and Greylock Federal Credit Union as buyer. A financial institution as grantee on the same property and date is consistent with a mortgage recording tied to the purchase above rather than a separate resale.
The third disclosed sale was 71 Patricia Avenue, recorded July 17 for $125,000. The sellers were Cory M. Evangelisto and Nicole M. Mancivalano; the buyer of record was Greylock Federal Credit Union, again a pattern consistent with a mortgage recording rather than a private sale.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Sunnyside Drive accounted for four of the month's 11 filings, all referencing 12 Sunnyside Dr. The names Dewey and Roberts recur across three of those recordings before the property transferred to the Town of Dalton, with no price disclosed on any of the four filings.
East/E Housatonic Street accounted for two filings, both tied to 230 Housatonic St: the month's top sale and a same-day recording to Greylock Federal Credit Union.
The remaining five filings were single-property records: 71 Patricia Avenue ($125,000), 65 High Street (a mortgage-related recording, no price), 55 Tower Road (a mortgage-related recording, no price), 140 Dalton Division Road (no price), and one filing listing only "Dalton, MA" with no street address, price or buyer given.
By price tier among the three disclosed sales, one fell under $500,000 at $125,000 and two fell between $400,000 and $500,000, both at the same Housatonic Street address.
MARKET NOTES Financial institutions appear as grantor or grantee in five of the month's 11 filings, including Greylock Federal Credit Union (twice), Freedom Mortgage Corp. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., and West Town Savings Bank, indicating a substantial share of this period's recordings were mortgage-related rather than arm's-length home sales. The Town of Dalton appears as a buyer once, on the Sunnyside Drive property. Bed, bath and square-footage data were not available from registry deed records for any of the 11 filings, and property type (single-family, condominium or multi-family) was not specified in the data.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 17 | 71 Patricia Ave | Evangelisto Cory M; Mancivalano Nicole M | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $125,000 |
| Jul 17 | 140 Dalton Division Rd | Allen Barbara G | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 17 | 12 Sunnyside Dr Mtg In Bk 7942 Pg 44 | Dewey Frank | Roberts Wilfred H; Dewey Judy L | Not disclosed |
| Jul 17 | 12 Sunnyside Dr Deed In Bk 7291 Pg 198 | Roberts Wilfred H; Dewey Judy L | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 17 | 12 Sunnyside Dr Not In Bk 7942 Pg 51 | Dewey Judy L; Dewey Jennifer L | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 20 | 55 Tower Rd Mtg In Bk 5229 Pg 341 | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; West Town Savings Bank | Brosnan John; Brosnan Theresa | Not disclosed |
| Jul 21 | 230 East Housatonic St | Wilson Robert A Jr.; Wilson Shannon E | Knutson Danielle; Roy Daniel | $457,500 |
| Jul 21 | 230 E Housatonic St | Knutson Danielle; Roy Daniel | Greylock Federal Credit Union | $411,750 |
| Jul 21 | (no address) | Urrea Daniela Cubillos; Velandia Cristian Camilo Bejarano | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 21 | 12 Sunnyside Dr | Dewey Judy L; Roberts Wilfred H | Dalton Town | Not disclosed |
| Jul 21 | 65 High St Mtg In Bk 6778 Pg 68 | Freedom Mortgage Corp; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Suchenicz Patricia A | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.